National Institute for Advanced Transportation Technology

The National Institute for Advanced Transportation Technology at the University of Idaho is a center of excellence for transportation research, education and technology transfer in the state of Idaho, the Pacific Northwest and Intermountain regions, and in the United States.

We invite you to explore our Website to learn more about our research, graduate and undergraduate opportunities, and the people who work with and for us. Please contact us if you would like additional information about our programs.


2014 TranLIVE Student of the Year Rory Lilley

2015 CUTC Awards Banquet Washington, DCTranLIVE selected Rory Lilley the 2014 TranLIVE Stu­dent of the Year. As a Mechanical Engineering master’s student at the University of Idaho, Rory has served as an effective leader/organizer/technical consultant to our undergraduate Formula Hybrid SAE team. This project has been sponsored by TranLIVE as an educational outreach since the inception of the TranLIVE center and by the Idaho Engineering Works in the senior design program. Rory worked his way up through the student ranks, as an undergraduate team member, as a senior design student, as a UTC intern, and as a UTC graduate student. Currently, he is an excellent role model in terms of his dedication to hard work, his recruiting of new inter-disciplinary talent to the team, his ability to organize training sessions/design experiences that capture and retain important vehicle design knowl­edge, his rapport with faculty advisors, his familiarity with manufacturing equipment in our machine shop, his ability to deploy testing equipment in our small engines laboratory, his ability to accurately simulate engine/powertrain systems, and his high standards in the authorship of project reports/technical papers. The impact of his efforts, coaching, and all-around vehicle knowledge can be seen in the FHSAE team success at the 2014 International Formula Hybrid Competition. This included 1st place overall, the Chrysler Innovation Award, and the GM Hybrid Electric Design Award. Rory has been an integral part of the UI FHSAE legacy for many years and his efforts continue to pay it forward to future vehicle platform teams as well as engine design/ engine testing research projects. Contributions in both areas are closely aligned with DOT UTC mobility, sus­tainability, and human resource missions.

Rory received the award at the annual Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) Award Banquet in Washington D.C., January 10, 2015. Congratulations, Rory!

2014 Michael Kyte Outstanding Student of the Year Award

Region 10 PacTrans Board of Directors with Jennifer WarnerJennifer Warner, second year MS student at Oregon State University, was presented with the 2014 Michael Kyte Outstanding Student of the Year award at the PacTrans Reception during the 94th Transportation Research Board annual meeting. A photo capturing the award presentation includes members of the PacTrans universities from left to right: Maria Bayya (UW), Ahmed Abdel-Rahim (UI), David Hurwitz (OSU), Jennifer Warner (OSU), Billy Connor (UAF), and Yinhai Wang (UW).


Each year, Federal Region 10 UTCs give out the Michael Kyte Outstanding Student of the Year Award to awardees based on accomplishments in three areas: technical merit and research, academic performance, and professionalism and leadership.


“Jennifer Warner has worked tirelessly to achieve excellence in her professional endeavors, and I could not be more proud to count her as a member of the transportation engineering graduate program at Oregon State University,” said Dr. David Hurwitz, Jennifer’s adviser.

by Heloise Abtahi

 In Memoriam: Michael Dixon 












Share a memory of Mike  ( 


Snowmobile Team is Ready to Compete (By Rob Patton)

2014 CSC TeamTeam Members Dillon Savage and Crystal Green Discuss Advancements to 2015 Vandal "Voodoo" Sled  (2014 UI Competition Team Photo)

The University of Idaho Vandal Clean Snowmobile team is in the final stages of preparing its “Voodoo” sled for the 16th annual SAE International Clean Snowmobile Challenge (CSC). The competition takes place in Houghton, Michigan, March 2-7 with events ranging from an endurance run to emissions and noise tests to acceleration and handling courses. Twenty-two teams from across the northern United States, Canada and even Finland will be competing this year.  

The Vandal CSC team comprises 20 undergraduate students, freshmen to seniors, majoring in mechanical engineering and electrical and computer engineering. Among the 14 members traveling to Michigan are veteran senior team members and mechanical engineering students Dillon Savage and Crystal Green.

Savage and Green agree this has been a year of innovation for their team.

“We have worked on three primary tasks to address fuel economy, emissions and sound challenges,” Savage says. “We extended the exhaust header, developed an electronic throttle control system, and implemented active noise cancellation using a device we created called MAQR (Mechanically Active Quarter wave Resonator).” 

Green explains, “Think of MAQR as a fancy pair of headphones for a snowmobile, which essentially connects a hollow tube to the exhaust system.” 

And, Savage adds, it’s a technique that’s never been done before.

Read more . . .



Naresh PachauriNaresh Pachauri (MSBAE ’08, MSc Chemistry ’11) worked with Dr. Brian He and Dr. Jon Van Gerpen as a graduate research assistant focusing on continuous biodiesel production using reactive distillation.  Naresh said, "The process cut down the costs and reaction times significantly." Prior to coming to Idaho, Naresh received a B.Tech in Chemical Engineering at NIT in India.

He was particularly fascinated with Idaho's winters.  His favorite past time was to learn & gossip with his mentor and friend, Dr. Joseph Thompson. He is thankful for the opportunity to do research and the financial support for his graduate studies from NIATT.  

He has worked in variety of biodiesel plants spread across the nation (including 2,5,10,20,50 & 100+ MGY capacities). He has been with his current company for the past two years.



Zane SappZane Sapp (BSEE ’08, MSEE 2010) has been working for Campbell Company in Boise, Idaho since graduating from the University of Idaho. He started working with NIATT in 2008 with Dr. Richard Wall. The work he did focused on board level troubleshooting on the Advanced Accessible Pedestrian System (AAPS). They now sell the AAPS as a product at Campbell. "This was truly an amazing experience to bring a product from a thought to fruition. I had all the tools from my undergrad experience that I could then apply at the graduate level. I was very fortunate to have NIATT to provide this great experience," said Sapp. He also had an internship with Campbell in summer of '09 and then was hired permanently by the company the next year.

Sapp said, "Since employment we have built a fine engineering team here a Campbell. We continue to design and build new products for the traffic industry. We also continually improve our products by visiting field sites and learning what the customers would like to see on the street. I’d like to thank NIATT and Dr. Wall for making this all possible."

more alumni . . .


Current newsletter

Research project descriptions and final reports

Graduate program in transportation

NIATT's location

Research capabilities

UTC Program at NIATT

2010-2011 Annual report (pdf)

NIATT faculty/staff directory

University of Idaho home

NIATT Student of the Year


Idaho Asphalt Conference

Sustainable Transportation Conference

Smart Signals Conference and presentations

National Institute for Advanced Transportation Technology

University of Idaho
115 Engineering Physics Building
Moscow, ID 83844-0901
Phone:  (208) 885-0576
Fax:      (208) 885-2877

University of Idaho
© All rights reserved.