The Temples of Japan

The temple architecture of Japan can be divided up into several periods following the introduction of Buddhism from Korea in the 6th century AD.  Click on a link below to connect you to those periods and their temples or browse the bibliography and links pages to find books, journal articles and web sites about the architecture of Japan. 


Asuka Period
(552-710 AD)

Nara Period
(710-784 AD)

Early Heian Period
(794-900 AD)

Heian Period
(900-1185 AD)

Muromachi Period
(1392-1573 AD)