SEARCH

Replace a File

There are several methods of replacing files within BbLearn. The best way to keep your Content Collection area "clean" is to Overwrite old files with new files. That way you won't end up with lots of different versions on the server. Alternatively, you can also update files from within a course item. This method will keep each version of the file in the Content Collection area.

WARNING: The Internet Explorer browser (IE) is NOT supported by BbLearn. Please switch to a supported browser (Chrome, Firefox, Safari, Edge).

Overwrite File

If your file is "attached" to a BbLearn Item, you can overwrite it directly on the page. Otherwise, skip to the next step.

  • Click the option menu next to the file you want to replace.
  • Select Overwrite File.

You can access and replace files from your course's Content Collection:

  • Within your course Control Panel, expand the Content Collection.
  • Click on your Course ID (e.g., 201510_56342) to access the file storage area for your course.
  • Click the option menu next to the file you want to over-write.
  • Select Overwrite File.
  • Click the Choose File button.
  • Locate the file you want to use on your computer.
  • Press Submit to replace you old file with the new one.
  • BbLearn will display a Success message indicating your old file has been overwritten with the new file.

Caching Issue

ATTENTION: If your new file had a different filename, you may notice that the filename did not change when you overwrote it. The overwrite process replaces the contents of the file, but does not replace the name of the file. Web Browsers will often display a cached versions of a document when the filename does not change, even after overwriting the file. You can clear your browser's cache to help with this issue.

Update File with New Version

This method will retain old versions of the file within your courses Content Collection area. To replace the file without retaining the old version overwrite the file instead.

  • Ensure that Edit Mode is ON.
  • Go to the Content Area (left side menu item) which contains the file you need to swap out.
  • Click the option menu next to the file, select Edit.
  • Click the Select a Different File button.
  • If you've already uploaded the new file to your courses Content Collection area, click Browse Course, otherwise click Browse My Computer to locate the new file you want to upload.
  • After you've loaded your file, you will see the File Name listed.
  • You can modify the Name your students will see, e.g. Syllabus 2013 (PDF).
  • If your file is a PDF, it's recommended that you set Open in New Window to Yes.
  • Check that Permit Users to View this Content is set to Yes.
  • Press Submit to save your changes.
  • BbLearn will display a Success message indicating that your changes have been saved.
  • TIP: Click on the new link to the file to be sure it works as expected.

Not finding what you need? Try BbLearn's User Manual.
Browse: Student Help | Instructor Help