BbLearn allows you to maintain all of your course content within one "[MERGE]" instead of having to maintain multiple BbLearn course spaces. If you teach multiple sections of the same course or hold a "Meets Together" class, request a course merge by filling out the Course Merge Request.
Standard Course Numbers (e.g. Directed study - 299, 499, 502, 602 and Special topics - 204, 404, 504, 604) cannot be merged with Catalog Courses. Special Topics courses can only be merged with other Special Topics courses. Directed Study courses can only be merged with other Directed Study courses. (See Faculty Staff Handbook section 4130 C-3 for more information).
BbLearn will display the appropriate course title for the section a student is registered in. However, each student will actually work directly inside the "[MERGE]" and will never see course content stored within the "Child course" section. Student enrollment maintenance such as adds, drops, and section changes are AUTOMATICALLY updated throughout the semester.
ATTENTION Student work cannot be transferred to a "[MERGE]" course. You do not want to request a merge if students have already submitted course work.
Course Merge Help
Once course sections are merged into a "[MERGE]", your BbLearn course list will display a "[MERGE]" containing the student enrollments for each section. Listed directly underneath it will appear all of its attached "Child course" sections.
- Can I communicate with each section independently, even if they're merged?
Yes. Each section will remain in your BbLearn course list as a "Child course". Although you won't use the child courses to deliver content (because your content will be uploaded to the [MERGE]), you can use these "Child courses" to Send Email to each section of students.
- Should I turn on the "Child Course," or the "Master Course," or both?
Turn on the "[MERGE]", but don't make your "Child course" sections available to students. If you do, students will see two identically titled hyperlinks to your course. One link will take them to your "[MERGE]" and the other will take them to the "Child course" section which is active. These two courses are stored in separate locations and do not share course material, discussions, assignments, assessments, grade centers, etc. Giving students access to both the "[MERGE]" and their "Child course" sections will cause confusion and frustration.
- What do students see when a course is merged?
BbLearn will display the appropriate course title for the section a student is registered in. However, each student will actually work directly inside the "[MERGE]" and will never see course content stored within their "Child course" section.