Dale T. Graden

Professor of History
at the University of Idah
o

 

 

 

Office: Administration Building 305 A
Office telephone: 208 - 885 - 895
6
Email: Graden@uidaho.edu

Department of History:                                                                                                                                                

https://www.uidaho.edu/class/history

Latin American Studies Program

https://www.uidaho.edu/class/mlc/majors/latin-american-studies
                                                                                     



A few tunes

Robbie Robertston: Ghost Dance

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bfai_XuZ8ow

Higher Ground: Playing for Change

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3hGSqqhhokE

La Rumba

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HiFFdCBSJr4&list=RDMMHiFFdCBSJr4&start_radio=1

Hayde Bluegrass Orchestra: Wayfaring Stranger

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4bvZ-WCkXGE

Luciana Souza: Here it is

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1m1XLWQ9KY8

What’s Going On?          

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JEp7QrOBxyQ&list=RDJEp7QrOBxyQ&start_radio=1

Satchita

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jfn8wsjh9WU

Give me some shelter

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GJtq6OmD-_Y

 Sympathy for the Devil

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZRXGsPBUV5g

Gimme Shelter: “The Best Version Ever”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wy3RdCd9zAM

Fannie Mae/PFC Band in Salvador da Bahia

https://playingforchange.com/videos/fannie-mae-pfc-band-salvador/?utm_source=Playing+For+Change+New+Subscribers&utm_campaign=182063a7f5-fannie+mae+salvador+%28main%29&utm_medium=email&utm_term=0_2943a80c16-182063a7f5-12017057&mc_cid=182063a7f5&mc_eid=b7a04358ed

 



A few articles

Jennifer K. Bauer, "Reading on Rights and Revolution," The Lewiston Tribune, 7/3/2014 (Graden interview)
http://lmtribune.com/360/article_5c13fd92-0268-11e4-aac5-0017a43b2370.html

Taylor Nadauld, “Supremacists, nationalists, Antifa: What it all Means,” Moscow Pullman Daily News, 11/17/2017
https://dnews.com/supremacists-nationalists-antifa-what-it-all-means/article_7315318d-21a9-5754-a413-957017cc1a12.html

 

Joah Baker, “Hemingway in Cuba” 2/2018
https://www.uidaho.edu/class/history/news/graden

Dale Graden, "End Cuba Embargo," Moscow Pullman Daily News, 2/2/2018
moscow pullman daily news

Max Salow, The Cuban Revolution: documentary 5/2019 (Graden interview)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5Hkxm-mC7w&feature=youtu.be

Kathy Foss, “A Product of History and Place: An interview with James Martin” 5/2019

https://www.uidaho.edu/class/mlc/students-alumni/martin

 

“New Approaches to the Comparative Abolition in the Atlantic and Indian Oceans” 8/2020
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6yWJT7xxNH0&feature=youtu.be

 

Dale Graden, “Listen to the Tribes,” Moscow Pullman Daily News, 6/10/2021
https://dnews.com/opinion/letter-to-the-editor/article_0e745480-549a-580c-b06d-fd30aae35cd2.html

 

Scott Jackson, “In Afghanistan, We were Beaten from Day One,” Moscow Pullman Daily News, 8/21/2021
https://dnews.com/local/we-were-beaten-from-day-one/article_80c15535-954e-5208-9c59-10e023bc8baf.html

 

 

 




Upcoming Courses

 

Fall 2021

 

Senior Seminar, History 495: Monday, 5-8


Slavery and Freedom in the Americas, History 441: T,Th, 8 a.m. - 9:15 a.m.

 

Modern Brazil, History 404, online

 

Spring 2022

 

Comparative African American Cultures, History 315, online

 

Modern Latin America, History 439, online

 

Summer 2022


History and Film: Popular Culture in the Americas since the 1950s, History 414, online

 

 



A few web sites of interest


The 1619 Project https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2019/08/14/magazine/1619-america-slavery.html
The Root https://www.theroot.com/
Truthdig http://www.truthdig.com/
Truth Out http://www.truthout.org/
Common Dreams http://www.commondreams.org/
The New York Times www.nytimes.com
The Boston Globe www.boston.com/globe
The Washington Post www.washingtonpost.com
Folha de Sao Paulo (Brasil) http://www.uol.com.br/folha/

El Pais (Madrid) www.elpais.es
The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/us

World Press Review www.worldpress.org 
Pacifica Radio http://pacifica.org/
Post Colonial Studies at Emory University www.emory.edu/ENGLISH/Bahri/index.html

Brazil's Landless Movement (Movimento Sem Terra, MST) http://www.mstbrazil.org/
The ties of the slave trade and slavery to Yale University www.yaleslavery.org
University of Virginia’s President Commission on Slavery and the University https://slavery.virginia.edu/

Human Rights Syllabi http://globetrotter.berkeley.edu/AIUSA-syl
Mother Jones Magazine http://www.motherjones.com/
Counterpunch: "America's Best Political Newsletter" http://www.counterpunch.com
Che Lives http://www.che-lives.com/
NACLA: Report on the Americas http://www.nacla.org/
|

Back to top.