ACM Symposium on Applied Computing

March 18-23, 2013, Coimbra, Portugal

Data Mining Track

We are pleased to solicit original, unpublished and novel papers for publication and presentation in the 2013 ACM Symposium on Applied Computing (SAC) Track on Data Mining. Articles describing novel ideas and applications in all areas of data mining are of interest. This year, emphasis and special considerations will be given to papers addressing issues in scientific data exploration and mining. 2013 ACM SAC Data Mining Track will be held at Coimbra, Portugal from March 18-23, 2013.

ACM SAC Data Mining has a successful history of accepting quality papers and offering a stimulating platform for the exchange of ideas and dissiminating cutting edge research to the community. The 2013 ACM SAC Data Mining Track is the thirteenth such event in the 27 years of ACM SAC tradition.

The ACM Symposium on Applied Computing is recognized as a primary forum for applied computer scientists and application developers from around the world to interact and present their work. SAC 2013 is sponsored by the ACM Special Interest Group on Applied Computing (SIGAPP) and is presented in cooperation with other ACM Special Interest Groups. For more information on ACM SAC 2013, please visit

All enquiries and questions should be directed to the Track Chairs. Additional details are available on the track home page at

Paper Submission and Publication:

Original and unpublished papers are solicited for this track. The file format should be in PDF. The author(s) name(s) and address(es) must not appear in the body of the paper, and self-reference should be in the third person. This is to facilitate double blind review. Only the title should be shown at the first page without the author's information. Papers must be formatted according to the template which is available at the SAC 2013 website at

Paper size is limited to 6 pages according to the above mentioned template, being allowed a maximum of 2 extra pages at the additional cost of 80 USD per extra page. A few key words should be provided. A paper cannot be sent to more than one track. Original manuscripts should be submitted in electronic format through the START web site:

All papers will be fully refereed and undergo a double blind review process by at least three referees. The conference proceedings will be published by ACM.

Poster Publication of Selected Papers:

A set of selected papers will be accepted as poster papers by invitation only and will be published as short papers in the symposium proceedings.

Important due dates

September 28, 2012, Midnight, US EST: Full Paper Submission
November 10, 2012: Notification of paper acceptance/rejection
November 30, 2012: Camera-ready copies of accepted papers

Track Co-Chairs:

Hasan Jamil
Department of Computer Science
University of Idaho, USA
Email: jamil [at]

Raymond Wong
Department of Computer Science and Engineering
University of New South Wales, Australia
E-mail: wong [at]

Program Committee:

Annalisa Appice University of Bari Aldo Moro
Alfredo Cuzzocrea University of Calabria
Bruno Cremilleux Universite de Caen
Carlo Zaniolo UCLA
Carson K. Leung The University of Manitoba, Canada
Celine Robardet Université de Lyon
Chandan Reddy Wayne State University
Clara Pizzuti ICAR-CNR
Daniel Sanchez Universidad de Granada
Elena Baralis Politecnico di Torino
Fabrizio Angiulli University of Calabria
Franco Turini University of Pisa
Giuseppe Manco Instituto di Calcolo e Reti ad Alte Prestazioni
Hong-Cheu Liu University of South Australia
Irene Ntoutsi Ludwig-Maximilians-University Munich
Jianmin Wang Tsinghua University
Jiri Klema Czech Technical University, Prague
Jose Alfredo Federal University, UFRN
Le Gruenwald University of Oklahoma
Lorenza Saitta University Piemonte Orientale
Marzena Kryszkiewicz Warsaw University of Technology
Michelangelo Ceci University of Bari
Miyuki Nakano University of Tokyo
Mykola Pechenizkiy Eindhoven University of Technology
Nikos Pelekis University of Piraeus
Osmar Zaiane University of Alberta
Panos Vassiliadis University of Ioannina
Philip Yu University of Illinois at Chicago
Philippe Fournier-Viger University of Moncton, Canada
Rajesh Natarajan Universidad Carlos III de Madrid
Rosa Meo University of Torino
Salvatore Orlando University of Venice, Italy
Sanguthevar Rajasekaran University of Connecticut
Stefan Kramer TU München
Stefano Paraboschi Universita di Bergamo
Szymon Jaroszewicz Polish Academy of Sciences
Taneli Mielikainen Nokia Research Center
Wynne Hsu National University of Singapore
Xiaohui Liu Brunel University
Yasuhiko Morimoto Hiroshima University
Yu Qian University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center
Yucel Saigin Sabanci University
Zhi-Hua Zhou Nanjing University