UNIVERSITY OF IDAHO

ARCH 464 
Environmental Control Systems

Texts

Required:

Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings, 13th edition, Stein, Reynolds, Kwok, & Grondzik. 
The Green Studio Handbook, 3rd edition, Kwok and Grondzik. 

Suggested:

Architectural Acoustics Illustrated, Ermann. 
Daylighting Performance and Design, Ander.
Heating Cooling Lighting, 4th edition, Lechner. 
Infra Structures, Wells.
Sun, Wind and Light, 3rd edition, Brown and DeKay.
Light Revealing Architecture, Millet. [Out of Print]

Websites:

Green Architecture:
Architecture2030 <http://www.architecture2030.org>
Agents of Change <http://aoc.uoregon.edu>
American Solar Energy Society <http://www.ases.org>
AIA Committee on the Environment <https://network.aia.org/communities/community-home/librarydocuments?LibraryKey=e4c51d5d-4110-483f-a430-4b217a5e01a2>
Earthships <http://www.earthship.org>
US Green Building Council (USGBC) LEED Rating SystemTM <http://www.usgbc.org>
Living Building Challenge <https://living-future.org/lbc/>
Environmental Building News <http://www.BuildingGreen.com/>
US EPA Energy Star Buildings <http://www.energystar.gov>
 
Better Bricks <http://www.betterbricks.com/>
Lighting:
MIT Daylighting Handbook <http://web.mit.edu/sustainabledesignlab/projects/DaylightingHandbook/resources.htm>
Seattle Lighting Design Lab <http://www.lightingdesignlab.com>
Lightolier <http://www.lightolier.com>
Philips Lighting Company <http://www.lighting.philips.com/main/home/>
Philips Lighting Academy <http://www.lighting.philips.com/main/experience/education/lighting-academy>
International Dark Sky Association <http://www.darksky.org>
Johnson Controls <http://www.johnsoncontrols.com/>
Glare Mitigation <http://www.archlighting.com
Fuel Sources:
Heat Pipe Technology <http://www.heatpipe.com/>
American Wind Energy Association <http://www.awea.org/>
National Renewable Energy Lab <http://www.nrel.gov/>
Water and Waste:
Composting toilets <http://www.compostingtoilet.com/>
Waterless urinals <http://www.waterless.com/>
Data loggers <http://www.onsetcomp.com/>
Green Roofs <http://www.greenroofs.com>
Green Parking <http://www.invisiblestructures.com>

Acoustics:
How to Design the Acoustics of a Concert Hall <https://soundcloud.com/architectmag/how-to-design-the-acoustics-of-a-concert-hall>

 

OLD Quizzes and Exams:

To aid in your preparation for the quizzes and exams, copies of old tests are posted for your review.

Old Quiz File

Old Exam File

GOALS TEXTS SOFTWARE LABS
GRADING READINGS EXTRA CREDIT SCHEDULE