Submit a Suggestion
Suggestion Box

 

Home | Teach Flexibly | Software Tools | Tech-4-Teaching | Workshops | Zoom


Tech-4-Teaching

Classroom support is available from 7:30am to 8:00pm Monday through Friday. Contact avhelp@uidaho.edu with general questions about these rooms. For tech support when using the rooms, please contact support@uidaho.edu.

At the beginning of fall and spring semesters, local IT support teams and the Technology Solutions Partners adjust their prioritization processes to focus on support for technology-enabled classrooms. You are encouraged to visit your assigned classrooms ahead of time to familiarize yourself with the technology in these rooms.

Read the Collaboration and Classroom Technology Services newsletter to learn about new classroom technologies, technologies to support teaching and learning, changes to Zoom and workshops.

Fall 2021 Presentations

Classroom Equipment

Teaching Equipment

Classroom SetupTechnology-Ready Classrooms

Detailed list of UI's Technology Classrooms
Fall 2021 Updates

Fifteen classrooms were upgraded this summer with funding from the Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) fund. These classrooms will especially benefit instructors who plan to continue in a HyFlex style with class meeting and virtual meeting sections scheduled simultaneously. These classrooms will also benefit instructors who have frequent guest speakers joining from a distance.

Two classrooms (TLC 029 and TLC 248) received full upgrades based on feedback from instructors who taught HyFlex courses during the pandemic. Improvements to these rooms include:

  • A camera to auto-track the instructor
  • Ceiling microphone for students to be heard at a distance (and for instructor to be heard when circulating the room)
  • Two monitors at the lectern: A touch monitor which will serve as the primary monitor to allow annotation or use of whiteboard in Zoom. A secondary traditional monitor to be utilized for dragging information from the second monitor that you need to focus on as an instructor (Zoom chat, preparing other content to share, etc.).

Thirteen classrooms (AD 227, AD 326, ALB 112, ALB 212, EP 205, EP 209, MCCL 209, MCCL 315, TLC 023, TLC 030, TLC 046, TLC 047, and TLC 148) received partial upgrades that included ceiling microphones and two monitors at the lectern.

ALL Registrar-scheduled classrooms have a ThinkBoard dry erase board, as well as a wipe cloth and dry erase marker, located on the lectern for convenience when using the doc cam.

Meet Your Classroom (1.25 hr)

— Cassidy Hall (Doceo), Ken Schmidt (ITS), Brian Smentkowski (CETL); recorded on 8/6/2020
This session was recorded live on from the TLC 223 with 20 hand-selected participants. The rest of the attendees participated remotely. This full simulation introduced participants to the newly installed technology in UI's classrooms.


Lightboard Studios

Eleven lightboards studios have been installed in several locations. These systems were paid for through the Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) fund and are available for use by faculty, staff, and students.

  • 50" eGlass lightboards with built-in camera (35" in ASUI)
  • Adjustable height desk
  • Dedicated PC (except for CAA which is BYOD)
  • Monitor
  • Copy holder

eGlass Lightboard Studio Locations
Campus Room Contact
Moscow ALB 228 Tammy Renfrow, trenfrow@uidaho.edu
Moscow AA 109 Quinn Kendall, qkendall@uidaho.edu
Moscow CNR 19N Lee Vierling, leev@uidaho.edu
Moscow EP 201 Jeff Kimberling, jeffk@uidaho.edu
Moscow Library 209 Hanwen Dong, hanwendong@uidaho.edu
Moscow Phinney 221A Ann Abbott, aabbott@uidaho.edu
Moscow ISUB 302 (ASUI) rs-dsi-conference@uidaho.edu
Boise Suite 180
(Virtual Studio)
Jaap Vos, jvos@uidaho.edu
Coeur d'Alene Harbor Center 115 Patti Davenport, pldavenport@uidaho.edu
Idaho Falls CHE 205A Ryan Haworth, rhaworth@uidaho.edu
McCall TBD Karla Eitel, keitel@uidaho.edu

Recording Studios

Eight recording studios have been installed in several locations. These systems were paid for through the Governor's Emergency Education Relief (GEER) fund and are available for use by faculty, staff, and students.

  • Dedicated PC
  • Touch monitor
  • Software
    • Camtasia
    • Snagit
  • Camera w/ ring light
  • Copy holder

Recording Studio Locations
Campus Room Contact
Moscow CNR 19N Lee Vierling, leev@uidaho.edu
Moscow Library 209 Hanwen Dong, hanwendong@uidaho.edu
Sandpoint Orchard TBD Kyle Nagy, knagy@uidaho.edu
Caldwell R&E Center TBD Pat Momont, pmomont@uidaho.edu
Parma R&E Center TBD Michael Kiester, michaelk@uidaho.edu
Twin Falls R&E Center TBD Lyle Hansen, lhansen@uidaho.edu
Aberdeen R&E Center TBD Chad Jackson, chadj@uidaho.edu